Getting a good guitar tone with an effects pedal.

BeneGuitar01

Aug 2, 2009
Fort Worth, Texas
www.myspace.com
OK so before everybody has a good laugh, here is my situation. I have a Digitech GNX effects module that I can run straight into my computer. I have a very humble home studio setup and do not have the ability to actually mic my amp and record that way. I am trying to get as close to a live sound as possible, I have tried running my effects unit in conjunction with various impulses and cabinet sims and I've not really been satisfied with the results, any hints tips and advice will be greatly appreciated. I am just now really diving into the world of audio engineering (and more specifically home-recording) So I will be seeking more advice and submitting my recording for critique. I am a novice so please be gentle :headbang::headbang:

I'd say ditch the Digi and get some of LePous free plugins.....throw a donation if you will! I've tried demo version of Revalver and at first thought it was great but once I started playing with some of the the LePou amp sims and some of the awesome impulses provided by the great members of this forum, I never looked back.

Definitely try the free sims as Bryan mentioned. The Digi won't even come close. I used to have one of the fancy Zoom effects floorboards (almost 10 years go) when I first started and thought it sounded amazing plugged directly into my computer. Now that I go way back and listen, I realize it's complete shit. You'll get much better results with the free stuff floating around and a cab/impulse loader.