Getting a good vocal sound (for n00bs)

Freak Of Metal

Student Of Sound
Jun 15, 2009
Leeds
Hey everyone, I dont have much experience recording vocals. I am currently recording the demo for my band and we are in need of a good vocal sound for growls/screams. Unfortunately the only mic at my disposal is a Shure Beta 58A vocal microphone. If you were me, how would you go about getting the best sound with this mic? I would love some tips on acoustics, plugins, mic placement, etc. Remember, I am an amateur and dont really have much cash at my disposal. I do however, have a lot of experience using DAWs (currently using Sony Acid Pro because Cubase seems to fuck up with Vista).

Cheers!

I think people worry a bit too much about whether their vocal mic is good enough sometimes.

You can get a good result with almost anything.

Takeout lows with EQ. Add Presence if need be. Tons of compression (or just use a limiter or something). Reverb

Yeah It won't be that hard, you could get a good sound from that mic, IMO dinamic mics tend to work great with death growls. I recorded a death metal band with just a SM57 and vocals came out surprisingly well. And yeah do some Eq'ing, probably a high-pass filter, and lots of Compression

I have gotten a decent results with wide variety of mics, but I have noticed that it doesn't matter what mic you use, just get a helluva good performance out of the singer. I would rather take an amazing performance out of SM58 clone than a poor performance thru U87.

If you use a large diaphram condencer mic in the shockmount with a popfilter, going to the preamp, you have 90% have of the needs covered for the vocals. If you can use a compressor in the way in it's a plus. You can buy the cheap ones from Thomann for like 50€ or something

Remember: do not give closed headphones to the singer. They pretty easily sing 8 cents below the pitch with those