GUITAR LESSONS: How Much Do You Charge?

Gnash

Lefty
Mar 29, 2006
Warrensburg, MO
www.threatsignal.com
I've been charging $10 for a half hour lesson for a couple of years. I live in a rural area with a limited population of around 20,000. I usually have 10 students a week. The lesson is "supposed" to be a half an hour, but I'll almost always wind up teaching for an hour. I've been thinking of raising my rates, since I'm giving extra time to the students, and my students are "used" to staying for an hour. It's a tough call though. I don't want to piss people off.

When I had a tutor he bumped the rates up after a while. He charged £12 for 40 minutes, which is like...errm $20 odd? Thats for 40 minutes, so im sure you can get away with raising your rates some.

Plus if they respect you (which they will) they wont mind as long as you keep up your lessons :)

totally depends on market and demand. I know guys charging $100/hr but that's w/ a serious rep.
Unless a lot has changed since I lived in STL, rural MO is pretty poor. Still, $10 for a 1/2 hour is very cheap.....especially if you are really working for an hour.

i've been thinking of giving lessons. i was going to market to "budding metal players." teach 'em the basics, and watch them flourish. i figured i'd charge like $35-$40/hour. no half hour sessions probably; like you said- before you know it, it's over and you go over anyway.

$20 for a half hour but I only get twelve and the store gets eight. But you should just let em know that you're gonna be getting more stiff about rates and if they're gonna stay for an hour they gotta pay for two lessons

I charged 25 euro per hour... was fun at first, but then the kids i was trying to learn something were just slacking and not listening to my advices anymore... also, when i give them homework i want them to do it dammit!! DAMMIT!!!

So i stopped.. :)