Guitar Noob

Faint

Sheep Worrier
Jul 23, 2007
Wales
www.last.fm
Hey. I have very little knowledge on how to actually play a guitar and no theory, but I have an ambition to one day be able to play extreme metal and will practice until I reach it.. :loco:

Before I can do so I would like to know what you guys/girls reccomend as a good guitar to start off on. Pretty much the main reason I am planning on buying one is to play metal, so it would help if it could meet that requirement (Although not straight off obviously).

I'm going to put alot of effort into learning how to play and will practice as much as I can so hope to be at a fairly average standard quite quickly. However, I was wondering if any of you know of any good tutorial websites that I could use, prior to and after I have a guitar.

Thanks alot for any help. I've reached the stage when I can't listen to metal without wanting to play some guitar. :lol:

If you want to get really good, grow long black curly hair, steal a magicians hat, wear sunglasses, and smile in a creepy way under all your hair.

I play guitar all day, probably 6-10 hours. Sometimes when I wake up in the morning the fingers on my left hand are stiff and I can barely bend them for a little bit. I have only been playing about 6 or 7 months. But I'd say I'm about average or maybe a little higher, my guitar teacher is amazing and has been playing for 30 years.

Try Bob Dylan stuff for basics, do alternate picking exercises to increase your speed. Use scales as well to become more familiar with notes.

For soloing try this riff over and over til you can play it fast.

E------5h7h8
B-5h7h8

If you don't know what "h" means, it means hammer on, basically you let the note ring and you put your finger onto the fret while its ringing.