Guitar sound pointers

muldjord

May 7, 2013
I'm in the process of writing new material for my band Muldjord. I will be doing all of the mixing and mastering when the time comes. I have many years of experience with this, but I still consider myself a rookie.

With that said, I am looking for some pointers for guitar sound. A band called Naglfar from Sweden has an EP called "Ex Inferis" with a cover track called "Dawn of Eternity". The guitar sound on that song is exactly what I want for my own production, but I am unsure how they made it.

Therefore, I present to you, a link to the song. If you have any ideas for which amp is used, what mics, eq'ing, what setup and what post-processing is used, pleeeease let me know.

What I notice is that it sounds like they have 2 types of guitars. 1 bright and 1 with a more bassy sound. And perhaps a lot of compression on some of the frequencies to make it feel broad.

Not my ideal guitar tone exactly, but at a first listen I would say a lot of gain/drive/dist, and lots of treble. The "2 types of guitars" you hear might be the bass. In my mixes, if I want a fat guitar sound, I usually look at the bass, haha. Even if many link this all the time, Ermz' guide on how to EQ guitars have really helped me a lot, and if you haven't, you should check it out;
http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/...-series-1-poking-holes-high-gain-guitars.html

Thanks! That was a very good read, and nice to know that I actually use exactly the same technique as described in that tutorial. Awesome! Great feeling being on the right track. :)

So, back to the guitar sound in the song I linked. Any ideas on amp, cab, mics? Maybe even dual amps? Dual mics? I'm looking for any clues.