Headphone Heaven

Mulder

Blacksmith Apprentice
Sep 28, 2004
Yurp
Hi all,

Had to share a story.

I have a little homestudio in the attic. More like a nice cpu, tons of software (was a salesman/reviewer once, loads of NFR's on the shelf), a good amp, nice speakers, a Kurzweil midiboard and a good main interface (RME).

My headphone was wearing out. It was a Sennheiser 5-something, too lean on the bass, too much mids, no more depth. Had to buy a new one.

I bought a Sennheiser 650. I'm a bit of a pro, I make money with this stuff, so I deserved one. I thought.

Around that time I had a livegig, had to do a FOHmix of Steve Adler (Adler's appetite). Great band, but they were as loud as they were deaf. And stupid me, I forgot my earplugs. So after a very miserable week with a constant sizzle in my poor ears, I accepted the Grand HF Canyon that Steve had ploughed through my inner ear. I learned at school that damaged frequencies are gone forever, so I prepared myself for a life without overtones.

At that time I switched Audio'interfaces, my old Digi 001 became a shelfsitter and the RME and an ADA8000 became my main source of output.

I hooked the ADA8000 to a Sony Extwemely Standawd Pweamp, folks around the net called this nice looking amp 'HiEnd', so it should be more than adequate to drive my dual mono class-A amps, Technics SB-RX50 monitors (they are good) and ofcourse my brand new Sennheiser 650.

Boy, had I gone deaf. With this beautifull new headphone, top-of-the-line and pwetty expensive I couldn't hear details anymore. Ridebells, hihats, snarecracks, all gone. Wooly bass, and dynamics like wet farts. I accepted this situation for a while, it was my own stupid fault, mixing livegigs with imploded rockstars is never worth the money.