Hello.. I'm not good at this mixing thing... Please help me :(

Bandersnatch

New Metal Member
Aug 27, 2013
Vaughan, ON
Hello all.

I came here hoping I could get some help with mixing some recordings that I'm doing and you know...actually make my terrible songs sound not so terrible.

I'll try to keep this short and to the point but please excuse me as I'm trying to include as much information as possible..

To first outline what I'm running with here, I'm using a Pod HD Pro into a Focusrite 8i6 via XLR. So far, so good. I've also got a Blue Spark mic that I use to mic up my 4x12 when I want to use that thing. My computer is one that I built myself that has a Core 2 Duo @ 3.16GHz, 6GB of RAM and I use Cubase Artist 7.

Now on to my problems.

On a recent recording, while tracking the guitars through the pod into the 8i6, I began to notice a rice krispies type of snap crackle and pop in the recording. I'm not sure what's the cause, though my suspicion in that I'm running too hot a signal into the 8i6. Since the Line 6 Advanced user manual says the best signal to noise ration is when the master on the Pod is at max, I have the master cranked, but the channel volume set at %50. So my first question is what could be the cause of the snap crackle and pop? I monitor my computron's RAM usage and I never go past %40 usage... so there's lots there for Cubase to use...

The second issue is that during the solo, the volume on the solo drops, the spikes, then drops, and so on... any idea what could have caused that?

You can listen to the recording here... though I still need to figure out how to boost the volume of audio mixdowns..

Thanks in advance for your help and if you need even MORE information, I'll be happy to provide it.

I believe this is the info you're looking for...

Latencies_zpsffc29d5d.jpg

buffer_zpsc457251c.jpg

So it appears you have it set to highest latency then? With your computer specs, I don't think that would be your issue then.