Help a newbie Guitarist play I Am the Law

mhowes

New Metal Member
Sep 23, 2002
San Francisco, CA
Visit site
I'm just learning how to play guitar and am trying to play "I Am the Law".
My weakness is rhythm which makes playing Anthrax and most thrash tough...

I just have trouble hearing most "gallops" and have trouble getting those parts smooth.

the bigginning riff of I Am the Law goes something like this...
G|------||-----4--------|------------------||
D|-2-2--||--2--4---5----|-7---5-5-5----2-2-||
A|-2-2--||--2--2---5----|-7---5-5-5----2-2-||
E|-0-0--||--0------3----|-5---3-3-3----0-0-||

Those 3 G power chords in a row are played faster and some around there are muted for a nice "chug" sound.

Can someone explain how that is exactly played? As in are all three muted? Maybe some of the chords around them are also muted? Strumming pattern?

My ear just sucks for those kinds of things.
thanks
mike

:Smokin: OK, I can help ya out. You mute (lay the meaty side of your pick hand pinky against the strings at the bridge as you strum) all of the G5's and you only play the last E5 one time, not 2.

If you're interested, www.powerchords.org/anthraxtabs is a killer place for old stuff and has this one for sure. The tunez are pretty accurate and if you're not too sure about the rhythm, if you have an idea of how the song goes in your head, the tab makes more sense......at least it does to me. Hope this helps:headbang:

I looked at the tab for I Am The Law on the page you suggested.

The opening riff looks a good bit different

Riff 1 (chorus)
e|---------------------------|
B|---------------------------|
G|---------------------------|
D|-------4-------------------|
A|----2--2-5-----/7-5-4-5--2-|
E|-00-0----3--33-/5-3-2-3--0-|

a couple qestions.
I don't hear those two 3s on the 6th string before the muting

I hear the slide....

With the muted chords I can't hear a difference between as you show, a switch to F-sharp power chord in between the two Gs