HELP! Mixer or control surface?

Gelatin

Boob inspector
Jun 10, 2002
Stockholm, Sweden
www.facebook.com
Hey guys, one newbie question. I've been recording for almost two years now and I'm thinking of ways to expand my studio. I'm pretty fed up with mixing in the box so I'm interested in getting either a mixer or a control surface.

Currently I've got a Presonus Firestudio and a Presonus Digimax FS for a total of 16 channels. My DAW is Cubase Studio 5. Since I've mixed in the box from day one, I'm not sure how to expand my enviroment. I've got a offer to buy a Soundcraft Spirit Studio LC but I'm not sure how to integrate that into my enviroment.

Would it maybe a better solution to get a control surface to control cubase..

you'd probably be better off with a control surface...

in order to mix in analog, you would have to take your digitally recorded tracks and send them back through a D-A converter, into the mixer, and then send them back through another generation of A-D conversion to get the final product onto your hard drive

in addition, you would want(if not need) some good outboard gear to mix on, and that shit's not at all cheap...who knows, maybe you have a stack of 1176's and pultecs, but if not, i'd just get the control surface and be done with it. it'd be one of those things that would enhance your current workflow, rather than completely change it.

*shrug*

only ones i've used were a mackie d8b, which was more a self-contained digital mixer, and a digidesign d-command, and i doubt you're in the market for one of those!

personally, i've had the mackie control and/or tascam us-2400 on my wish list for a while. behringer makes that BCF2000 for about $200...but yea, it's a behringer...

is that one of the single-fader deals?