Hey what Testament CD should I get?

Apr 3, 2005
IL
Hey, what Testament CD should I get. I'm new to Testament I've heard like 9 songs. So I'm just wondering what CD i should buy.

I am a true metal head though :headbang:

MetalThrasher442 said:
Hey, what Testament CD should I get. I'm new to Testament I've heard like 9 songs. So I'm just wondering what CD i should buy.

I am a true metal head though :headbang:

"New Order" or "Practice What You Preach" are two great albums that first time Testament listeners should hear first...that's my opinion.

I love ALL of Testament's albums (except maybe The Ritual). ;)

The sound quality of the newest ones, make them the most entertaining to listen to these days. If I hade to put them in order, I would say:

1. The Gathering
2: Low
3. First Strike Still Deadly
4. Practice What You Preach
5. Demonic
6. The Legacy
7. The New Order
8. Souls Of Black
9. Live At The Fillmore
10. Return To The Apocalyptic City
11. The Ritual

Usually, the Ritual is a good album for a first-time listener, although if you're heavily into old-school thrash, New Order is a good choice. I would suggest these two. Practice What You Preach is one that got the band many fans, though you can save it for later. Avoid Legacy- it's a little too raw. Avoid the Low/Demonic/Gathering types- they're a very different sound from what we have known Testament to be, so pick them up later. Frankly, Testament is one of thoe bands with whom you can never find fault (at least if you're a die-hard fan), but if you're buying your first few albums, start with Ritual and New Order.

WARNING: Ritual is Testament's less-glamorous version of Metallica Black, and I chose that album first since "Return to Serenity" was the first song/video I had come across.