High/Low Pass Question

Robert W

May 13, 2009
Ok, by a miracle of modern science, and some very good "dumb it down" advice I got on Reaper's forum, I figured out how to import all my old songs that I recorded on Riffworks into Reaper for EQing.

Thanks to forum member CruzControl, I was able to get here,

http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb42/Robert7779/eq1.jpg

After some trial and error, I figured out how to apply the high/low passes, at least I think I did :D.

Here's the original. Linsten to: Shootreaper
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=1065508

Here's the riff after I cut everything below 100 and everything above 8000. I also cut 1dB at 400 and another 1dB at 550 I think. Listen to: Orange
USE SAME LINK AS ABOVE.

This is my very first try at applying high/low passes, so if you think it sucks, take that into consideration.

You can pretty much get what kind of tone I'm going for, although I'm probably going to tweak the tone a little, and maybe back off on the gain very slightly. Anyways, could someone please give me some advice on where to cut and at what dBs to do so at.

Thanks

Honestly the original tone sounds better. The problem is a guitar tone by itself is much different than a tone in the mix. The whole reason for hi and low passes are to either A) get rid of unwanted sound (like getting the kit out of the cymbals) or B) make an instrument not step on the other instruments' dicks (like guitar low end overpowering the bass).

So by itself, a hi/low passed tone may sound thin/weak etc. But it allows you to create more focus in the big picture (full band mix) on the frequencies that matter on said instrument. Make sense?

Uhhh, you didn't apply any High or Low Pass at all:confused:
Your EQ is totally flat, it's nothing doing anything.

Uhhh, you didn't apply any High or Low Pass at all:confused:
Your EQ is totally flat, it's nothing doing anything.

Okey dokey.

Like I said, it was my first attempt at trying this.