Home brew

BrightEyes

Apr 7, 2006
Gold Coast
Do any of you lot dabble in home brewing? If so what are your experiences?
Was it easy, hard? Did it work the way you wanted it to.

Just went to the local home brew shop and bought a starter kit. So this is my first time brewing hoping everything comes up good.

Anyone have any tips they would like to share?

Yeah do that. I've home brewed a bit, but haven't been that impressed by my produce so far. The stout and dark ale turned out ok, but the lighter ones were disappointing. I did some cider, which worked out alright and am looking at making a batch of ginger beer pretty soon.

Make sure you sanitise everything. Last thing you want is an infection in your beer. Homebrew shops will try and sell you there stuff, but I have been using good old bleach for the last few years. Just need to rinse it out with clean cold water before you use anything

what beer are you making first?

Got the sugar drops in the kit I bought.

Im doing the recipe that came with the kit which is "Morgans Australian Lager"
So I dunno what thats like.

Its fermenting now for about 3 days so in a couple days I'll take a hydrometer reading and hopefully it should be right to bottle.

Yes i've santised everything so I just hope nothing gets infected.

I'm looking at making a European style beer like Becks or Heineken next or even a stout.

I dont wanna wait 2 more weeks though... I want it NOW!

I'm looking at making a European style beer like Becks or Heineken

Take:
1 Coopers European Lager Kit
1 25g Packet of Saaz hops
1 Packet of the recommended brew enhancer
2 pair of clean, sheer stockings
3 litres of water

Boil the water on the stove

When Boiling, and the brew enhancer, and bring to a rolling boil

Divide the hops into 3 even piles

Place 1 pile into the toe of a clean stocking and tie off (repeat for other 2 piles)

Place 1 hop bag into the boiling liquid. After 10 minutes, add the 2nd, and the 3rd 5 minutes after adding the 2nd