How can I improve my mixes?

causeunknown

New Metal Member
Mar 30, 2017
I've been working on and off for a few years on recording my music. Recently I feel like i'm not making any improvements and I'm not sure what I'm missing. I'm just a hobbyist, but I've been playing for many years and one day I'd like to just release some of the music I've been working on. I read a bunch of articles and I watch a ton of youtube videos, but I always feel like my end result sounds so vastly different and worse. I'm not sure what I'm fundamentally missing anymore.

Here is a mix I threw together tonight. nothing fancy just two riffs for mixing practice-

I'd really like to get some feedback and tips on how to improve. Here is my general workflow-

I use an Ibanez prestige into a focusrite 2i4. two guitars tracks - one panned hard left and right - TSE 808 - TSE X50 - NADIR with Rosen Mesa impulses. Both sent to a bus with a highpass lowpass at 100hz and 8500hz. I cut a bit around 4k and 500hz and small boost at about 2200hz.

two bass tracks - one clean and one distorted both using some compression and an SVT810 impulse. highpassed and lowpassed at about 100hz and 5k.

The drums on this one are very basic I know. Here i'm just doing some boosting on the snare and kick along with some parallel compression on the kit.

Finally, on the master I applied some compression for 3-4db of gain reduction, some eq (highpass at about 30hz, narrow cut around 500hz, and small boost around 2200hz), and limiter.

Hi! I'm a hobbyist myself, but I can share some knowledge and experience that I've got from online courses and tons of practice.

Highpassing the bass around 100hz is too much. Since you highpass the guitars around 100hz, then you would need the bass to support the low end below 100hz. If I were you, I would highpass the bass accordingly to the frequency of the punch in the kick, the tuning of the kick, and/or the speed and vibe of the song.