How much should I charge. {with a catch!??!!}

I've been doing stuff with production for two years so I'm kinda not just getting into it although I know I have a lot to learn. And I'm not doubting holding a job with a degree, nobody ever said that. But I still want to know how I should run this shit correctly with the time I do have.

$100 for mixing an album is not ridiculous. It's a completely absurd and impossible equation that anyone who can grasp even the most basic forms of math should consider a bad joke.

$30 per song isn't a friend rate either. It's shooting yourself in the leg. Well, both legs. And in the face. And in the cock. Thrice.

Seriously, you're sixteen. You could grab a job at McDonald's and make five or ten times that hourly rate, and flippin' burgers while picking your nose and listening to Sepultura with your iPod isn't exactly a creative process where you take responsibility for a year or so of someone's personal, artistic effort.

Fuck I'm glad I picked up a second job. Things are bad here.

I still want to know how I should run this shit correctly with the time I do have.

1) Start a business. It includes a lot of legal shit and a bit of paperwork. To be honest, considering you're 16, I'm not sure if you can even do that, since you're not considered a grown-up. Pay your taxes. Pay for your software. Get an accountant. You'll soon realize what you need to charge to stay alive.

2) Work as a freelancer. Legal details vary according to your location. Talk with a tax and business advisor to get you started. Convince your clients it's worth it for them to deal with all the bureaucratic bullshit to hire you.