How to prevent clipping ?

Tom-D

Jul 9, 2009
www.facebook.com
This is my first post here, so : Hi !!
OK, so here's the deal:
I have a big problem with clipping.I record guitars, bass and guitar synthesizers with a Tone Port UX 2 with Reaper.So after the recording is done I do all the tweaking(BTW Im not a Pro :D).So I bring up the guitars, bass and everything and it sounds good altogheter.I compress individual tracks and bring up the volume.So now I have a wall of sound, which is very cool.But now I want to record some solos, synths and all that on top of that.And this is when the clipping occurs.I dont know how to put those tracks on top on those loud guitars and bass.Offcourse I can make everything quiet, but to prevent clipping I have to make drastic changes and I dont want that.I want it to sound loud and clear.
Please give me some tips.How to put a solo over loud guitars/bass etc and put it upfront without clipping.Ive tried lowering the volumes of guitars and bass during solos but theres definitely a big difference in comparison with other riffs and it sucks during shifts between them.
Thanks in advance, later !

bring everything down. mix with headroom. ideally, nothing will be above -6db, but at the very least DO NOT push past 0db (even though itt'l let you). this is the key thing: your mix does not need to be loud, you bring up the entire mix to be as loud as you want when you're done (using gclip, or sonnox as lordtech said), or any limiter you can get your hands on, across the master bus. if you don't know what the master bus is, then just go the noob route and make a quiet mix, bounce it down (make a .wav file) and then import that .wav file into a new project. then put izotope ozone on it. you will be absolutely delighted. it won't be good by engineers standards, but you'll probably be thrilled.