I Bought a Used Tremoverb! Questions

jauernis

Feb 11, 2007
Frisco, CA
www.myspace.com
I did some research before buying this and the reviews stated that the tremoverb is up there with the old dual rectifier's. So I got a deal and jumped on it. Shitty tubes.
I've been messing with it a bit and to me seems real muddy just a real lacklustre sound. My 5150 on aprox the same settings just has that punch and clarity...the mesa sounds dull compared. Should I get it checked out?

what tubes would you go with if replacing the tubes in a tremoverb?

Should I bring it in to a tech to have him look it over (bias etc.)?

I'M A CERTIFIED TREMOVERB TECHNICIAN.

PLEASE SEND YOUR AMP TO ME, PM FOR ADDRESS AND DETAILS.

I WILL HAVE IT WORKING SO GOOD YOU WILL CREAM YOURSELF WITH DELIGHT.

TURN AROUND TIME UNCERTAIN

Hahahahahhaa, you can trust Sloan, just look at that smiling mug in his avatar! :lol:

But dude, Jauernis, it's a different amp than the 5150, of course the same settings aren't gonna work! :loco: The Tremoverb as I understand is still a full-blown dual Rec, so a Tube Screamer of some sort is an absolute must (Drive 8:30, Tone 10:30, Level 11:30), but use silicon diodes (rather than tube rectifiers), bold (rather than spongy), and these settings on the red (bottom) channel:

RectoSettings.jpg

And you should be in heaven! Though you'll probably wanna drop the gain a bit, and raise the bass (ALWAYS tweak a Rectifier from right to left, starting with getting the right gain first, then treble, then mid, etc.) And yes, I meant to have the presence knob that low; it's a powerful beast! Also, make sure the channel cloning switch on the back is in the middle spot! And what cab are you running it through?

Oh yeah, and tube wise, I love Penta Labs 12AX7's (the best of the batch of Shuguang 9th gens, relabeled by Penta) and Ruby 6L6's (or Mesa 6L6's, if you can afford 'em), from www.dougstubes.com! (unless you go for the Mesa 6L6's, of course, those would be found here)