Ideas for short film that I have to make for Uni

Spruce Goose

Then Goose me up woman!
Apr 17, 2001
Sydney
scholar.uws.edu.au~13326874
Howdy.......
I am studying film production at Uni, and I have to make a 3-5 minute film. There are no boundaries, and we can make whatever we want.
I have a few ideas, but I would like your opinions firstly about the idea that I will post here, and also about any ideas that you have that I could possibly make a short film out of. All I need is a basic idea, and I will develop it from there. Thanks, and here is my treatment for the idea I had:

Fade from black into the first shot of an argument between a father and his teenage son. This shot sets the overall mood for the film. The is a very heated conversation, and you can tell that the father is at his breaking point. We don’t know what they are arguing about, but we know that it is serious. The father tells his son to get out of his house and come back when he has changed his attitude.

The next shot shows us the son with his bags packed, turning away from the house and walking off. This shot will show us that the son has actually left home, and remind us that he has been kicked out, because of the distraught look on his face.

The next sequence portrays the struggles that the son goes through on the street. It is clearly a few weeks or months since the argument with his father. We can tell this because the boy has grown a beard, and he looks very messy and unwell. There are several shots that make up this sequence, and they include the boy searching through garbage bins for food, the boy trying to keep warm at night, and a shot of the boy crying himself to sleep. This sequence will hopefully have a strong impact on the viewer, making them appreciate the little things in their life that are so important. This sequence will have a soundtrack overlayed on top of the footage, and the film may be stylised in black and white.