iMac/firewire interference?

colton

Sep 25, 2010
TX
UPDATE is further down. PLEASE READ

Hey everyone, long time lurker here.

I'm been having a pretty big problem with a noise/interference/ground issue over the last few days and I was wondering if anyone would care to share some advice if you have experienced something similar. I've searched and read through these threads so far, but I'm still left puzzled:

http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/equipment/654250-mac-pros-firewire-problem.html

http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/production-tips/553042-hum-ground-noise.html

http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/production-tips/525108-please-help-me-my-noise-problem.html

http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/...lectrical-gurus-emi-noise-my-home-studio.html

http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/equipment/577876-7500-hz.html

I just do this for myself, I'm not an audio engineer by any means. Anyway, here goes...

Up until recently I've been mixing on headphones since my room wasn't properly treated, but that's been slowly changing over the last few days. I decided to take out my Yamaha HS50M/HS10W monitors again since I'm finally getting bass traps put up. So before I was going to proceed any further, I went to Home Depot and bought this - http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc...splay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053