iMac/Hackintosh Guys

digitalmikey

Let's get digital.
Oct 2, 2008
Detroit, MI
www.digitalmikey.com
So here's the skinny. I'm thinking about selling my iMac and building a faster Hackintosh setup for music creation. I remember hearing a few guys say they run the Hackintosh setup and was curious besides price if they ever have any problems or pros and cons of said setup.

I should have about an $800 budget and just want to get the fastest I can possible since my iMac can only be upgraded so much. And for those wondering I'm Logic loyal or else I wouldn't even worry about this.

Any suggestions? :headbang:

wouldn't bother, frankly.

especially if you use the machine for pro work.

I've been running a Hackintosh rig for 18 months now, but it was a computer I had anyway, not a custom build.

It's served me well enough, but its too flaky for me to depend on it moving forward with paid projects. Will be getting a Mac Pro before the end of the year.

Long story short, if your iMac works then you should stick with it.

I built mine 4 months ago. I like it quite a bit. I still have yet to use it on a full session because I am still making the jump from PC to Mac and currently trying to get all the plugins I need before I use it fully. However, FWIW, I like it. I know Thedriller has had one and he helped me when I was debating building one.

I don't know how fast your imac is, so I can't comment on the performance increase, however, it seems like to me that my laptop with windows 7 and reaper is still smoother and quicker and easier. Maybe it's because I have always been a PC guy. We'll see in the near future.