In flames - The Hive WIP. Feedback please.

Sidious

Apr 4, 2005
Hey guys

So, i finally got around and recorded SOMETHING. For this i used Reaper as the daw, and ezdrummer for drums. Bass is just a ghetto bass.

https://soundcloud.com/exardious/hivecompletertm

I would like some general feedback on the mix. I dont want it to sound too generic, i.e. like any other mix, but still want it to sound like something worth listening to. Playing is a little sloppy, since my no1 priority was to have a nice mix.

Keep in mind im a musician, not a producer, and i'm not trying to change that. I just want to be able to record stuff that doesnt sound like shit.

Any kewl tips, anything standing out?

Regards
JJ

Guitars are way too loud beside drums.
Also drums sound very thin (to be polite). Just take a look at Metal Machine. This will really improve the overall sound for what it costs (in cash and time as you already own EzDrummer).

pos : Guitar tone is ok. Not the best I've heard around here but definitely usable, given the goals you mentioned.

You might be right about the guitars being too loud. Since im a guitarist, i might have a tendency to focus on the guitars. Think Hetfield and Ulrich in the studio when mixing AJFA. :)
I'll try lowering them.

I know the drums sound like ass, but this is actually the best i've ever got them. I have no fkn clue what to do with drums at all. I actually bought ezDrummer + DFH some years ago, and completely gave up on them because i can't get anything reasonable out of them. Im a musician not a sound engineer, so go ahead and laugh behind my back, but im actually proud of the drums. That being said, i actually followed some posts about Metal Machine and will buy them, when the next paycheck rolls in. But if any of you have any ideas to the drums i could try out, feel free!!

Thanks for the feedback, dude.

Think Hetfield and Ulrich in the studio when mixing AJFA
haha, in this case, you're right in it :)))