In Honor Of - Metal (core?) the 'getting there' mix...

ryanojohn

Dec 18, 2006
So I started this project on saturday, did a day of drums, a day of guitars, and today did some bass... I'm looking for really any and all suggestions before it actually comes to final mixing stage, so I'm well prepped for that when it comes along.

Drums: Pearl Session Custom, Pork Pie Squealer Snare, Zil A Cymbals
Kick:e602 ->API512C
Snare:57 ->API512C
HH:KM184 ->Focusrite
Toms:C3000 ->API512C
OH:KSM44 ->Chandler Germ
RM:U99 (mid), R121 (side) ->Focusrite

Guitars: PRS McCarty, Mesa Triple Rec, Crate BV, Mesa Traditional Cab
2xSM57 ->SSL9000J
421->SSL9000J
R121->SSL9000J

Bass: Ibanez Soundgear,
Homemade DI-> M-Audio Tampa

Vocals: coming soon :p

I have pictures of all the setups if you'd like also.

http://ryanojohn.com/mp3/CYB6A1.mp3
Thanks.

I'm a bit of a noob here but I'd just like to say I really like this. I also have a few suggestions, that possibly might be wrong/not make sense as my ears aren't as good as a lot of the other members around here. But I just thought I'd give my opinion.

Sounds really good overall, but everything (guitar and bass in particular) sounds as if it's pumping a little bit due to over-compression.

The guitars also sound as if they could do with a bit more bite, possibly a bit more high mid/treble? There are also a few parts where the guitars drop out (especially in the breakdown sections) but you can hear the guitarists touching the strings/making noises whilst muting, that could probably be edited out, just to make it a little bit cleaner...

I know nothing about drums or bass at all but they sound absolutely stunning to me. Especially the snare. I guess it's probably to do with taste and might differ when the track has vocals, but I would probably bring the drums up a bit, as the guitars are very dominant.

Overall, I personally really like it. Nice job. Hope this was some help.