Which would you rather own?

• Intel

Votes: 3 20.0%
  • Advanced Micro Devices

Votes: 10 66.7%
  • I don't care

Votes: 2 13.3%

• Total voters
Intel... I've been using this brand for over 10 years and it's still trustworthy.

AMD, while Intel may have the best processor out right now, i've had countless problems with Intel processors in the past. AMD, however, has always proved reliable.

How do Intel have the best processor out? Highest clock speed maybe, but not 'best'.

I'd say it all boils down to personal preference; the Athlon has lower clock speeds but puts out more work per CPU cycle, making it more efficient per Mhz than the Pentium, but I'd have to say....

AMD FX-53 > *

Yeah, the reason I said best was because I couldn't be bothered to type out "highest clock speed". Yes, I am that lazy.

hehe :)

At the moment I'd definitely go with AMD though, as I'm far too cheap to get Intel when something for similar performance can be had for half the price.

AMD. Intel has the faster processors, and apparently in head-to-head comparison tests they are slightly faster, but AMD has a great bang for you buck. Besides, everyone uses Intel. :p

I just plain don't know, nevermind having an opinion on which is better. =)

For no rational, logical or neccessarily internally documented empirical reasons, I quite like AMD myself. =D

Intel has the performance edge, that's for sure.

But AMD is still cheaper. It may not be quite as fast, but it is still fast enough, and the higher price of Intel just doesn't justify the performance increase.

AMD > Intel

AMD OWNZ INTEL
by mid 2005 the 64s will be at 3.1 ghz ... though intels will be over 3.8 id still go with Intel.

Cut and pasted from another thread. :p

Xenophobe: The Nforce3 will kick ass eventually, new chipset's out soon and should be great. However, an A64 3200 even now owns your Pentium and my lowly Athlon :(