Internships

cloy26

d00d
Jul 17, 2009
Port St. Lucie, FL
www.myspace.com
So, I am getting ready to transfer to a big(ger) university in Orlando, FL. I am studying business. However, I want to work in the music industry, specifically owning and working my own studio. I currently do small time productions in my bedroom and have been learning a ton in my first year recording. However, I believe an internship as I attend school next fall would benefit me greatly and really give me the knowledge to take my hobby into a profession.

How do I go about landing an internship with a decent studio?

I am friends with a few guys in a few bands who know some owners, so pretty tight and some are a little distant. In or around Orlando there are Chango Studios, Andrew Wade Studios, and James Paul Wisner (produced Underoath's "They're Only Chasing Saftey".

I was talking to the singer in my band, who is in another much bigger band, Versaemerge, and said that he and the other guitarist are very tight with Andrew Wade, but that he wouldn't be interested in my interning because I don't have experience with Pro Tools... Is there any validity to this? I use Reaper right now, but have been debating for quite some time now to purchase a PT rig and am leaning towards getting one if it would be beneficial.

What are some things I should do in trying to get an internship? I won't be a "recording degree student" but I clearly have the passion for it. Am I against the odds as not being in a professional recording school? Any info is appreciated from you guys, especially the ones who have been where I am. :)