Interview with Peter Ellis from Monument

Firewind SKG

New Metal Member
Jul 15, 2012
SKG
Me: Hello Peter, I am glad that you agreed to let me take an interview with you.

Peter: My pleasure Thanassis

Me: I would like to ask you about your career as a singer at first. What made you believe in yourself and become a singer?

Peter: Well that's a bit of a funny story because I actually started out as a guitar player. I studied classical guitar for 8 years and got my degree in music theory. All while thinking that my voice absolutely sucks! Haha

Until one day when I was 17 I was singing along to Burn In Hell by Judas Priest and almost by accident I hit the high falsetto scream in the chorus

A switch went on in my head right then and there and I was like "I think I can do this..."

Me: And you did it as it has shown up.

Quite a nice story to tell your children. Which artists were inspirational for you and made you love them so much?

Peter: My biggest influences have been people like Bruce Dickinson, Dio, Ian Gillan, Halford, Tim Ripper Owens and Geoff Tate though there's a lot of other singers that have influenced me in some ways like for example Eric Adams, Phil Anselmo, David Coverdale and others

Me: Many great artists, like Ronnie DIO that you have mentioned above are now not with us. If you had the chance to work with one of them who would this guy be?

Peter: Honestly any of these guys would be great to work with

Me: Nice. Let's move on. Last question about the "decision to be a singer" years. Which was the musician/artist that you first met and which was the first concert you have been to?

Peter: God, I actually can't remember, I have met most of my childhood heroes though so I guess not many people get to experience that but I honestly can not remember who the first one was. I should remember really! haha. My first concert was Iron Maiden in Greece when I was very young, in '99.