is music weakening/stagnating as much as movies have in the past 20 years

goatschool

Sep 12, 2002
www.youtube.com
i'm not a musician, and would like to hear real musicians' give opinions on this admittedly broad/vague/and maybe redundant question.

yesterday i read a poignant opinion on the current state of horror movies (nothing new, but stated in a snappy enough way as to reopen all wounds), and that got me to thinking about all culture.

a follow-up to that opinion (on film) had another good thought, which is: "... we don't demand that today's stars be good; it's enough that they are paid to show up onscreen. There are some real craftsmen still working... but it's no longer about matching the right actor to the right role; it's about getting somebody we KNOW on the screen."

addressing just, say, metal or alterna stuff: this kind of music seems to be held in a higher (critical AND consumer) standard than movies, lately, right? but has anyone noticed any degradation in "quality" or talent and/or ability (as opposed to studio technique)?

i don't think i'm conveying what i want to ask well, but

I think there's a ton of crap that gets incorrectly lauded, but overall I believe the quality is going up in both music AND movies recently. sure, there's always the middle-of-the-road garbage, but if you want good stuff, there's plenty to be found. I don't even think you have to try very hard either.

technology has levelled the playing field- that means more people can get in the game. sometimes it's good, sometimes not.

but really - I do honestly believe that music and film has been pretty great recently.

i agree with avi. i think there are instances where certain scens are definitely stagnant because they allow very little to mess with the traditional norms in that particular scene BUT with more and more people getting in the game like avi said, i like to think that good music is getting an outlet again.