i've encountered a bit of an internal musical conflict...

viewerfromnihil

Vein-Marbled Tower
May 29, 2008
Berlin, Germany
ok so i've been a guitarist for 4 years and nearly 3 months now, all of my money gone to guitar along with all of my time. i just got out of a rough spot with guitar (i basically stopped practicing) and when i got out of it, i also picked up bass. i've been consistently playing bass for a month now but it's been around my house for over a year (not mine, my sisters, she got it and didn't touch it so i took it over). i've found that i have made quite alot of progress on bass within this month, building a decent slap technique, getting my right hand fingers fast and consistent, and i can play most of atheist's mother man (not quite all the way through though, it's quite an exercise :p). on top of that, i've been around drums for 3 years now, getting to jam once every couple months and have built up some basic skill with it and have recently started improving (thanks to air drumming :lol: it really does help) so, i'm buying a drum set in a week or so... this has been causing a bit of a controversy with both myself and my wallet :lol:

so here i am now, wondering what i am going to do with my practice regiment. i'm decent at guitar, i have decent writing skills and can hold my own in a technical aspect but i find my skill progress with guitar has been coming slowly unlike how it used to be. however, with bass, i've made a huge amount of progress and it's not slowing down, both technically and with writing unique and cool sounding bass lines for songs. lastly, with drums, i've wanted to play since i can remember and can hold my own pretty well for somebody who doesn't even have a set or a consistent practice regiment and i also have random bursts of skill improvement with drums. for example, i haven't played drums in two months but, the other day i jammed out on a set and played twice as well as i could before.