I have to be the most uncreative person ever...

I have been playing guitar all my life, bass for a few years, and drums a few months, but I cannot for the life of me even come up with even a single riff I think sounds decent, let alone cool. Am I just uncreative, or do I just need to try harder or what? The guitar player in the band I'm in (who also is the main songwriter) told me it's all about the atmosphere, and to forget any theory and scales and just play, but that doesn't work too well for me. Anybody have any suggestions or something that may be of help?

I can make up a cool riff when ever i want,
it weird. I never had this problem so i dont know what to tell you. Just play around with the guitar, and see what you get

Chances are, you're too critical and too picky :) but don't worry you Can't be the most uncreative person in the world, just turn on the radio and you'll see infinities of worthless crap that lacks creativity, talent, and anything related to music.

Regardless, just the more you dick around the more likely you are to randomly come across a riff you like. Anyway, good luck man
rock on

tenuous soul said:
just turn on the radio and you'll see infinities of worthless crap that lacks creativity, talent, and anything related to music.

You know, when you put it like that, I don't feel quite so bad anymore
supergrin.gif

Seriously though, I am pretty critical of the stuff I come up with, but I've been playing roughly 13 years and I only have one riff I think was worth remembering, and it isn't even really all that good.