Let me know what you think of this...

Goreripper

Metal as fuck
Aug 24, 2001
Blue Mountains, Australia
myspace.com
Every now and then I contribute a film review or two to the Internet Movie Database. I've been doing this for three or four years, and in all that time I have never received any feedback on what I've written. That doesn't surprise or concern me; it's a huge site and I'm sure most people use the message boards to comment on others' comments. But today I got a notification that I had received a private message, so I checked it out. It seems that someone was offended by my suggestion that New Zealand is a place 'still not known for its film-making', and proceeded to be very rude. Apparently this person thought I was insulting NZ somehow by saying this, which I was not. New Zealand has been responsible for some of the best film of the past decade. My argument was simply that it's still not a place people automatically think of when discussing film-making. Check out what I wrote and let me know what impression you got from it:

http://us.imdb.com/CommentsShow?89869-15

Thanks!

The review is fine, I think!

And you're right, you normally think of the US when you think of locations for films... Even Sydney, which is fast becoming a HUGE place to make movies now isn't necessarily the first place you'd think of when you saw, say, Star Wars, etc.

Whoever bagged you is a tool, I think!

I don't see a problem with it. If it had been written today then perhaps your reader might have had a problem with it, considering what LOTR did for the industry over there, but then this is a country that couldn't hold its annual film awards because they didn't have enough eligible films for 2001! Can't remember where I read that, but Peter Jackson understandably wouldn't let LOTR be eligible because it would have massacred the opposition.