Macbook and MOTU 828

Obscura

Mar 16, 2004
www.myspace.com
Macbook and MOTU 828 MKII
Please be gentle... I just recently got a Macbook and have had a MOTU 828 laying in our practice space for over a year now that was left by a friend. I'm extremely new to recording and have up to this point been recording band rehearsals with a Fostex VF80 and 2 microphones.

I'm trying to make some better quality demo recordings of our songs, recorded live at rehearsal, and then doing some quick overdubs afterward. I know that the 828 is complete overkill but can anyone give me some suggestions on getting started with it? I know that it only has 2 XLR inputs/mic pre's, so what kind of interface do I need to run into the MOTU so that I can record about 8 tracks live? Would I be better off getting a MOTU 8Pre or something like it?

I spend a LOT of time on this forum reading and learning and I know that this is way below the level that most of you are at, but I wasn't sure where else to turn for information.

Thanks, Todd.

you could grab an 8 channel preamp with adat out...... That will give you 8 mic inputs and then still have the 2 on the front of the 828.

Thanks for the help. I know what my question probably sounded like..."I found all of these heavy bars of gold and I don't know what to do with them..." so thanks for the help. Is there any cheaper way of doing this than getting another expensive piece of equipment? I really just want to make some very, very rough demo recordings for the other guys in the band to listen for now. Thanks.

Buy a cheapass 8 channel behringer mixer with 8 cheapass mic pres. Output 3-8 of the behringer mixer and patch that into 3-8 of the 828. Use the mic pres in channels 1-2 in the 828 as normal. Assuming the 828 has 8 line inputs, i forget.