Maiden story in The Courier-Mail

Spiff

I have the power
Apr 14, 2001
Brisbane, Australia
Yo

In today's colour magazine Q Weekender (or whatever it's called) with the Courier-Mail - that's Brisbane's newspaper, like - there's a four page article about Maiden. The paper's resident metalhead saw them in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane - quite an interesting read, and a real treat to see it in the mainstream press.

Might type it out if it's not available online anywhere.

Well, half the pages are taken up with ads so it's not that much, and I type for a living so it won't take long.

My scanner ain't all that flash to be honest. I'd be a bit embarrassed to upload anything with it.

OK, here's the article.

Let him who hath understanding reckon the number of the beast / For it is a human number / Its number is six hundred and sixty six...

As the train draws to a halt at Sydney's Redfern Station late on a blustery Saturday afternoon, you can hear the primal chant even before the doors hiss open. "Maaaaii-den... Maaaaii-den... Maaaaii-den..." The carriages are a boisterous sea of black T-shirts adorned with skeletal figures, nightmarish flames, fantastical album cover artwork and the names of dates of concert tours long past. Homemade flags are draped around shoulders, fathers hold the hands of the next generation of children to be inducted into the clan and the chant goes up again as the train lumbers off, bound for Homebush Stadium and the first Iron Maiden concert in Sydney in 16 years.

Total strangers - many of them middle-aged men like myself - greet each other with the heavy-metal salute of closed fist and extended index and little fingers, all the while grinning like excitable kids.

Not long to wait now until the gods of heavy metal take the stage...

Torches blazed and sacred chants were praised / As they start to cry hands held to the sky.
The Number of the Beast, 1982