Matter of Life and Death - DIY MASTERING

Demonstealer

Jun 30, 2003
India
demonicresurrection.8m.com
Hello Everyone,

I'm in a strange place, I've been an engineer for long enough now but I've been one of those who follows the if it aint broke don't fix it type thing. But now I'm trying to be more of the do new things and get better.

So thats when all came tumbling down. So I'll just erase everything and say I'm a complete noob. Now I shall proceed.

I'm doing a project which I have to master myself because of the obvious reasons of money etc etc. Previously all my stuff has been mastered by either an L2 (I know I should be shot for this :p ) and then moved to PSP Vintage Warmer.

I always ran either on my master bus and mixed into that and I knew EXACTLY what the end product was sounding like which worked for me. This time I'm trying to

a. Mix and master separately
b. Do more than slap on the L2 and/or PSP vintage warmer.

So here lie my problems.

1. What do with my masterbus when I mix? I already tried a light L2 with some EQ boost and in certain songs my snare went for a toss etc etc which I posted a thread about. Also should I be mixign into any limiter etc? Because then when I master everything changes a large amount.

2. What can I do in the mastering process apart from limiting and doing everything to 'get my loudness'???

I can also post a few clips if anyone wants.

I'm be grateful for any help because I REALLY need it.

Cheers!

Hello Everyone,

I'm in a strange place, I've been an engineer for long enough now but I've been one of those who follows the if it aint broke don't fix it type thing. But now I'm trying to be more of the do new things and get better.

So thats when all came tumbling down. So I'll just erase everything and say I'm a complete noob. Now I shall proceed.