Merging all the instruments..

Xenu

Noob
Jan 2, 2010
Austria
o_O Hey guys! o_O

I'm a beginner in mixing/recording etc. and I'm a little bit confused about some things! (Sorry my english)

I'm working mainly with Cubase / Addictive Drums / Synths-Pianos / Distorted Guitars etc.!

My signal chain for the guitar is: Guitar --> Audio Interface --> Rea-Gate --> Ampsim --> Cabinet..

I thought that my main problem is my distorted guitar sound because it was not a big problem for me to get a nice clean sound which affiliated easier with the other instruments like the drums etc... I tried many amp sims / Cabinets etc. and found this forum! I tried a signal chain from Dandelium (THANKS man!) and it sounded almost like in his example with the TSE-X30!

!At this point! i think i identified my "real" problem!
I compared Dandeliums signal chain with my older signal chains and recognized that my older guitar sounds does'nt sound soo bad like i thought - It was more this "accretion" with the other instruments, which makes this sounds "mighty" and mainly "compatible"!

I wrote down around 45 songs with guitar pro.. The songs are going into a music-style like "Dope", "Rammstein", "Deathstars, "Poisonblack".. I exported all that guitar pro midi tracks to cubase for further editing etc..

At this point I tune my Vst's until I like the sound for the recording session.
And there's the problem -->

"--- I got Sound A (Drums), Sound B (Guitars), Sound C (Choirs etc.) ----
Every sound "by itself" is sounding "ok" but the sounds are not going to affiliate and every instrument is a debris in a song."

Many of you think maybe that my problem is that I'm a noob in mixing the sounds """together""" and I think you're right.. Am I right?? :/ I think so.. :/