Meshuggah - Nothing

J.

Old Fart
Jul 24, 2001
The Woodlands
Listening to this right now. I'm on song #4, I think (because they all sound the same), and I'm trying to figure out what it is about these guys that garners them special attention.

Since I'm no musician, I'm not listening for weird time signatures or technicality, because it's always about the music anyway. The music is really nothing special. It's not horrible, but they are doing nothing that sets them apart from the crowd of death metal-ish thrash. And any Meshuggah fan can never complain about hardcore vocalists. That dude is all shouts.

Meh.....

Byebyenow.

I gave a listen to the latest Meshuggah in the HMV to decide whether I buy it or not... I decided not to buy it. I don't like math metal at all.

J. said:
Listening to this right now. I'm on song #4, I think (because they all sound the same), and I'm trying to figure out what it is about these guys that garners them special attention.

Since I'm no musician, I'm not listening for weird time signatures or technicality, because it's always about the music anyway. The music is really nothing special. It's not horrible, but they are doing nothing that sets them apart from the crowd of death metal-ish thrash. And any Meshuggah fan can never complain about hardcore vocalists. That dude is all shouts.

Meh.....

Byebyenow.

agreed ... tried Chaoshpere and it left me flat ... I HAAAATE stop/go riffing ... to me it means you cannot hold a riff or play your instrument.
I get a headache everytime I tried to listen to them.

You guys might like the None EP or possibly Destory.Erase.Improve. More straight forward and thrashy. Simply because Meshuggah tried to push a few boundaries and try something that virtually no one was doing at the time dosent mean they arent more than competent musicians. THomas Haake (drummer) still blows my mind with some of the things he does.