Mixing a Demo of my band's new song...

chrisadvocate

Apr 15, 2011
Let me know what you think, please be super particular. I'm the drummer and I tracked the guitars, so if any of the leads sound off, that's why, this is just a rough demo/practice mixing.

I'm really digging the way the kick sounds in the new WCAR album, it's so wide, and fat, but still had a bit of attack, and I can't seem to get that, if anyone has some tips on processing kick 10 like that, it would be much appreciated. Thanks guys!

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8879741/thong3.mp3

P.S. The bass is Trilian, this is my first time using it in a song, so feel free to nitpick that too!

are you clipping the kick? if not that may help it stand out(im on my work computer the speakers arent amazing haha but the kick sounds a lil burried)

I have not tried clipping the kick, but I think it might be the speakers, because it doesn't sound buried at all. I just went through a 2 day ordeal where my kick had WAY too much low end, then I toned it down too much, but I got it a good level finally. I just wanna figure out how to get that round, deep sounding kick, but not overpower the whole mix.

I just listened on my phone so I'm not allowed to have production related comments or questions, but I must say the song itself is awesome. I love the style of it dude. I would rock this. Hopefully the vocals are as good as the music.

I really like the way this sounds.
The drums could use a bit more humanization. Maybe try getting one of Joey's packs for the cymbals. Slate cymbals are kinda iffy.
The bass sounds super sick though.
Maybe try bringing up the rhythm guitars a little bit.
Are you putting it through any sort of Master comp or Saturation or anything? That might help it blend together a little more.

I really like the way this sounds.
The drums could use a bit more humanization. Maybe try getting one of Joey's packs for the cymbals. Slate cymbals are kinda iffy.
The bass sounds super sick though.