Modding a pedal to include gain control.

PortionThief

May 29, 2008
I have a Digitech Metal Master distortion pedal. It has no gain control and the amount of gain it supplies is WAY TOO MUCH! What would I need to do in order to add a gain control? Thanks for any help.

Jeff (JBroll) would be the best person to answer your question. I'm sure once he visits the forum and sees "mod" and "pedal" in the subject line he'll be all over this, haha.

~006

Try messing with the volume of your pedal as well, you could do less than 'full out' and compensate by raising the volume on your amp.

The digitech is probably harder to mod due to (possible) digital components, a more analog approach might better. Why not consider selling this for something else? What kind of amp do you have?

JBroll has actually helped me before so I was hoping he might chime in at some point.

I keep the volume on the pedal at about 9 o'clock. Even with less than that it is still just as distorted and undefined sounding. I've even used a volume pedal before the distortion to help cut it down some. It helps a bit but still way too much distortion. I was thinking of selling it but decided to keep it and fiddle around a bit in hopes of learning something(I got it for free from a friend so no loss). My amp is a Spider II, which I've had for much longer than intended.

If I can't do anything about digital components I would like to gut the thing and start from scratch.

Oh shit, I meant volume of the GUITAR. Does that work? Gut the thing? Electronics require some knowledge, especially digital. I would just sell the thing and look for something more appropiate. Time/Money wise pedal making/modding isnt efficient. You really gotta pick it up as standalone hobby and invest a lot of time in it to make it work.