Monitors

BrandonS

Apr 5, 2003
I need a couple good quality monitors for listening to recorded stuff, mixing and mastering. I get strange results with my desktop speakers from various CDs. I always master so that there's no "crackling" whatsoever, but some CDs I listen to have crackling and it makes me wonder what more I could actually get out of my music if I had a better set of speakers. These ones are great quality with a beefy subwoofer, but they don't seem consistent enough.

A small local studio uses a couple Mackies... They sounded pretty good to me, and the sound was pretty familiar coming out of them for my stuff. I'm not looking to spend a ton of cash. Maybe $500 total for a couple monitors. I need to upgrade from these desktop speakers, so any recommendations would be appreciated... I have an Alesis io|26 interface, and I'm assuming I would plug each speaker into the back of it... I have no experience with studio monitors. :)

The $500 is just a reference point but really...... not TOO far off from that please... x_x

I've heard HORRIBLE things about the KRK's (Moonlapse, for example) - if you want all purpose monitors for both pleasant listening and monitoring, BX8a's all the way; if you want something more useful for mixing but (as a result) less pleasant for listening, Yamaha MSP5's can't be beat for the price (though I'm curious about the KRK VXT4's...)

don't skimp out and get the bx5a's, you will need the 8's. i am in a predicament right now where my bx5a's won't produce the bass i need and the woofers just go nuts but just like bottom out. You will need the better firepower.

nooooooo anything but mackies!!
if i was installing a home cinema system, sure id put em in, but for monitoring, they are the most lying smeared scooped pieces of shit dressed up as a studio monitor ever to have offended my ears

buy some adam a7s

nooooooo anything but mackies!!