Logitech X-230 PC-Speaker (HiFi) vs. real monitors

Red Phoenix

Jun 22, 2009
Germany
I don't have real monitors, just these Logitech X-230 2.1 system and i think of investing in something not HiFi for musicproduction. I'm only a hobby producer and do everything at home. Using preamps with impulses and drumcomputers...some time ago i bought AKG K271 MkII Headphones to play around with mixes at night. Now i want to know if it makes a big difference mixing (at home) with studio monitors. And what type of monitors are useful for that (near field or mid field... what else? My Speakers are around 50cm away from me) And of course...is it necessary to have them? especially for non professional studio owners? Or are the Logitech X-230 enough for that? i have that speakers for years now and know them well and so i know (i think i know it) how the mixes has to sound on them. And i wouldn't pay thousands of euros...only <500€ for two! What's the advice of the Pros? Keep using the Logitech or investing in something better? Are monitors till 500 generally useable, respectively an improvement?

cheers :)
Lars

Hi i recently bough krk rp8 g2 monitors. Had genius and logitech speakers before. I can tell you there is much difference about what you hearing. Go for the real monitors! :))

Agree, but be careful . Yamahas have bassreflex on the back, and its recommended have them aboout one meter from the wall. Because that i choose krk's cause they are not resonating on low freqs if they are near wall....

Real monitors would be a good upgrade from the computer speakers. But also think about this, if the room isn't acoustically treated you probably won't get the true advantage from real monitors.

Thanks for the replies :)
I took a picture of my desk to show you my workspace...you see there isn't much space..guess these "big" monitors

would be very near to my ears..nearer than my pc speakers are..not so great condition i guess...what would be the best

choice in my case?