Music theory - where to start?

Vegard Pompey

ALLY TO GOOD, NIGHTMARE TO YOU
Feb 26, 2008
Duwang
I've been playing guitar for a few years, but I know next to nothing about music theory. What would be a good place to start from the basics?

Sorry if some of this is redundant.

Legend:
# - sharp
## - double sharp
A - augmented
b - flat
bb - double flat
d - diminished
m - minor
M - major
natural
P - perfect

I think the easiest way would be to start by learning diatonic notes and intervals, followed by the major and minor scale, which shouldn't take very long.

There are twelve diatonic notes. A diatonic note always produces the same pitch, regardless of how it's written. These twelve notes make up the chromatic scale, which is what Western classical music, rock, jazz, metal, pretty much everything you've heard is based on.

A
A#, Bb
B
C
C#, Db
D
D#, Eb
E
F
F#, Gb
G
G#, Ab

B to C and E to F are naturally occuring halfsteps, so we don't use accidentals (sharps or flats) between them. However, it's possible to have diatonic notes like B#/C, Cb/B, E#/F and Fb/E, we just usually don't bother. You can also have double flats and double sharps such as Ebb/D, or C##/D, but we use those even less often.

Intervals are counted in halfsteps.

Halfsteps (played sequencially or in a chord):
0 - unison
1 - minor second (m2)
2 - major second (M2)
3 - minor third (tritone) (m3)
4 - major third (M3)
5 - perfect fourth (P4)
6 - diminished fifth / augmented fourth (depending upon where it is in the scale) (d5 / A4)
7 - perfect fifth (P5)
8 - minor sixth (m6)
9 - major sixth (M6)
10 - minor seventh (m7)
11 - major seventh (M7)
12 - octave (P8)

Interval sequences for:
Major Scale - M2, M2, m2, M2, M2, M2, m2
Minor Scale - M2, m2, M2, M2, m2, M2, M2

Tablature for:
Major Scale - 0, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12
Minor Scale - 0, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12

After that, learn the relationships between the two, ie. relative and parallel major.

Relative Major
A Minor - A, B, C, D, E, F, G, A