My home project "studio" (& a formal introduction)

jex

Dec 14, 2007
I've been lurking on this forum about a year and a half. So far I have had no problems finiding an answer to every question I have ever had...just by searching this forum!

I've been recording music for a few years, but I've recently decided to step it up....so I sold my car:kickass: I put a lot of hours in that car and was seriously attached to it...but my goals have changed and I'd excited to get started!

Here is what I have so far:
Edirol M16DX
Event PS8 Monitors
Amplitube Metal
Waves Diamond Bundle
Miscellaneous Mics
Peavey Ultra Plus with 5150 Cab
Ddrum dominion drums with Pork Pie big black brass snare
Im sure Ive forgotten a few things...I'll update this post if something comes to mind.

Here are some of the things I plan to add (Comments/suggestions welcome):
Keep in mind my budget is limited (I have ~$1800 left)

Mackie Onyx (Probably 1620 w/ firewire) I've seen them sell on ebay around $700 with the FW card. I'm going to wait until I see another deal like this pop up.

Studio Projects B1 (Two)

A couple of SM57's

And a new computer (Currently running 1.8 GHz with 1GB Ram)

I'll be working in my basement which is ~600 sq. ft. Of course I plan on treating the room...but I need to do more research in this area.

Anyways, I look forward to keeping everyone updated. Hopefully I'll be able to help some of you in the future as much as you've helped me.

oh, I'll definitely post some pics for you guys. It'll probably be this weekend or early next week cause my camera took a sh1t....but I'll get 'em as soon as I can.

Stay tuned!

Shadow Walker, that forum is sick! Tons good info. First thing need to do is take care of my corners....especially with the PS8's.