Need some input on improvement...

Deofig

Aug 14, 2009
I am looking to improve as much as possible, and know I have a long way to go. Here's the lowdown:

Short version:

I need to improve my recording skills because I'm employed at a recording studio at a youth center.

Long version:

I'm currently employed at a youth center that is trying to get multiple media projects up and running, including a recording studio, video production, etc.

The studio is run by both my boss and I. My boss has years of experience in media production, including audio engineering. One problem though, is his experience is that of an older generation, before that of computer interfaces.

So I'm kinda of the lead guy when it comes to doing the actual recording process. Unfortunately, I have little experience with recording, but I am willing to work hard towards improving.

The gear we have is a little limited, though we are working on obtaining more gear as we go on. I'm working with some basic middle level dynamic mics that are a bit old, but work great. We also have three awesome condenser mic's that I find to work wonderfully. The audio interface is a firepod with 8 mic preamps going into Adobe Audition through firewire.

I believe the main thing that could be improved right now is my skill when it comes to recording. I have a song I've recorded for my band, and it's a bit of a rough mix, but it shows what we are currently able to achieve.

http://www.myspace.com/sheltonmetal

The song entitled "Into the Night rough mix" is the newest thing to come out of the studio. I'm happy with the drums for the most part, but find the guitars to be rather lacking.

I would like to hear comments on what I can improve, and how I can work towards making the said improvements.