New equipment

ForgotenWarrior6

Revel in this, bitch.
Sep 19, 2007
USA
www.myspace.com
First off I'd like to say I've been kind of sneaking around on this forum for awhile, listening to a lot of the mixes you guys have been posting and I'd like to they're kick ass.

But lets get down to business. I'm currently a student at my school (a music major) and I've been taking audio tech/recording classes and I love it. Everything about it is awesome. Just watching pieces of music come to life and everything. It got me thinking of starting a studio myself. I've searched this forums left and right reading on everyone's take on what they use, how they mix, etc.
I was thinking of getting the pro tools 003 setup. (the 8 channel pre amp rack mount looks very nice) I was wondering if anyone here could tell me if it's personally worth the investment. This is something I want to take seriously, so I want the best possible tones starting off. The thing is I'll probably only have a 1,500.00 dollar budget for the time being. I can get my hands on some shure PG-6 drum mics (at least I'm pretty sure thats what my buddy has) and as far as bass and guitar I was considering a product called Recabinet. http://recabi.net/site/ It seems to create incredibly brutal guitar tones for direct in. But I haven't seen many people talking about it here.
I'm currently looking for a guitar amp head too (outside my studio budget) and I was checking out the Carvin V3. It looks really versatile and has a great tone. It'd be the amp I'd use for live performances and for recording. The thing is I haven't heard a raw clip of it anywhere.

...I really didn't expect this thing to be this long, but if any one wants to help me out on this I'd really appreciate it.

-Thanks