New guy in town

Random Axe

Common Sense Man!
Sep 27, 2002
Cincinnati, OH
Visit site
Hello Enchant, Ed and everyone else on this board. This is my first post here, and hopefully it's the first of many as I get to know you. I've been around the prog community for many years and have just now ventured into the realm of specific band forums. There may be many I already know here from the PMX and Perpetual Motion boards. I've been friends with board member Eric Ragno(chynablue) for a while now, so that's at least one person I know. I thought it to be in good taste to introduce myself before posting replies on other's posts without providing a bit of background. I'm too old to get flamed or banned at this point.

I am not a prog head in the traditional sense and have little experience with the prog movements of the 70's and early 80's. My progressive roots lie firmly entrenched in Dream Theater, Fates Warning and some mid 90's bands like Enchant, Altura, Shadow Gallery and most of the Magna Carta catalog of the time. I am driven by three things in music...passion, emotion and dynamics. If a band is passionate about their music and craft, if the band envokes an emotional response and can express themselves in a variety of ways from heavy to acoustic, then I'm all over them. Of course a good singer helps.

My favorites albums almost in order are:

Queensryche - Mindcrime
Dream Theater - Images and Words
Styx - Greatest Hits vol 1 and 2
Lethal - Programmed
Enchant - Blueprint
Vox Tempus - In the Eye of Time

I'll stop writing now, as I've probably bored the crap out of you. I sincerely hope to contribute positive things on this board with my undying sarcasm, cynicism and brutal honesty and sick sense of humor. I also hope to make new friends and learn about new music and bands. Thanks for reading.

Scott
Cincinnati, OH

Hey welcome Scott