New here, salute you and some questions.

Hi guys, I really enjoy this forum. I already introduced myself in "who's who section", my name is Diego, I'm a 30 year old guitarist from Argentina and actually I'm recording an EP for my band Selfgod. I own rehearsal/studio room, a Mac Pro with Pro Tools, a Digi 003, a Focusrite Octopre Platinum, Shure, Audix, Neumann and MXL mics, a bunch of plugins and decent monitors. My main guitar is a LP Custom with EMG 81-85 and my main amp is a 5150 with Marshall 1960AV cab. I use a lot of pedals, including Maxon 808 as overdrive.

I learned a lot from you guys, and I try to experiment a new thing every day so I never lost interest, but actually I can't get a killer tone for the EP, even with a good setup like mine. I tried a single 57 in the best speaker sweet spot and the sound I get is very weak compared to the sound I'm trying to get (think In Flames guitar tone). One thing I noted is the EMG 81 pickup height to the strings is very important, I'm using a 12-68 string gauge (for drop b tuning) so I adjusted the pickup close to the strings to get more definition. Now I can get a clear tone, but lacks of the classic low end of the style. I tried some Fredman using two 57, but I know is very easy to get phase issues there so I'm not sure if I'm making it right. I know that technique is trial and error and many of you take many years to develop well.

About my tone, I see that many players with my setup use Mesa cab with V30s, maybe is that the factor to get more low end? I really want to try a Mesa cab, but here are very expensive (about 2000 dollars new).

I always dual track the rhythm guitars and recording DI tracks too (for reamping later and make editing more easy). Do you guys edit guitars or try to get them right from the beginning? I'm a tight player but not so tight to get dual guitars right in one take. I'm editing using slip edition, but I always get a "mono feeling" when all is editing.

Thanks for your time.