New Here, need some help.

ADRSean

Apr 18, 2008
Hello guys. Well first off my name is Sean Smith. I'm a producer and recording engineer from Lansing Michigan. I am only 19 years old, so my recording equipment is very limited to say the least. Especially in the worst economy in the world. However, I want to know how I can get the most out of the least equipment. I will tell you what I currently own and am using on a new CD i'm producing and mixing/mastering.

I mix/master everything using a combination of FL Studios XXL (the latest edition) and the latest edition of Adobe Audition. I have been using those programs for many years and I know them inside and out.

For guitar recording, I had tried using the Shure SM57 I think it was with the end cap taken off mic'd to a Line 6 Spider Three 120 Watt Combo amp. But it wasn't going to well. So I looked into direct guitar interfaces. I then purchased an IKmedia Stealthplug. I love this. Instead of using the software Amplitube. What we do is plug the guitar into the amp normally, and then plug the Stealthplug into the headphone jack and then into the USB hub on the computer. What then happens is a direct amp recording. The only downfall is it's very thin sounding. But I make do with what that does. Using a lot of EQing to make it sound full (reverbs even.) Same thing for the bass but using a bass amp.

Drums are a lot more complex. As of now we have a few random drum mics, that we use to lay down the basics. And then after which, I go through and help resample using Toontracks EZDrummer and Drumagog software. That's going great. I'm very good at tweaking and EQing.

Vocals we use an Audio Technica USB Condesor microphone. That is great as well.

Examples of my production include my band