Need some general recording advice

deathkllr84

New Metal Member
Mar 20, 2010
Hey my name is John, I'm new here :kickass:

I'm 17 and am an amateur at recording, I've been recording for about 3-4 years now and plan to go into Audio Engineering as a career, making music sound good is fun as hell to me.

Anyway, I've ran into these questions while reading around and through experience:

1) What DAW should I be using to take the next step?

-I've been using FL Studio to program and mix ezDrummer or my own samples for drums. Then I export the drum track into Audacity and record guitar and bass. Pretty nooby setup, and I feel like I need something more powerful: a mixing DAW where I can mix drums while recording, etc. I think you may be able to do that in FL, but I would rather use Cubase or the like to make it simpler. So I need some suggestions.

2) What should I be using/doing to record guitar and bass tracks?

-Currently I have been using my Digitech RP250 multi effect pedal's custom tones to record guitar and bass. It gets me decent results, especially when I experiment with them for a while (ex: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5319877/Left to Rot.mp3 ). But still I feel like I can get better tone from some other method.

I experimented with minor Re-amping type recordings. I ran my Ibanez through my RP250 and ran a dry signal into audacity. After recording a dry track I took it into Fl Studio and put a few different amp VSTs to see how it came out, and I couldn't get anything too good.

EQUPIMENT​
I don't really have that great equipment, mostly because I don't have the money to spend on $500 guitars and expensive monitors, etc. But here is what I use:

Software
-FL Studio to program/mix drums (ezdrummer/samples)
-Audacity to record/mix guitars and bass (can't mix drums in this though)
-Adobe Audition to master songs
-Reaper but have not figured it out yet

Hardware
-Digitech RP250 for tones/recording guitar bass