need some advice on mixing

darkist

New Metal Member
Jul 22, 2009
ive been producing dnb for a few years now, and have decided to move ova to metal, so me and my mates have been fucking around with a few recordings,

what im after is a point in the right direction, i understand alot about production, but not about recording or eq guitars or bass, and what effects to use, my drums sound alright, (because im using Drums from hell) as i don't have the equip to record them yet. so i know its a fucking big queston to ask but where to from here, any good threads from starters, any info , mainly on eqing and recording would help. :headbang::headbang::worship:notworthy:kickass::kickass:

Do some searches, there's LOADS of stuff about every aspect of metal production here, you just have to look for it.

No one is going to give you a magic step by step guide to making an amazing metal recording, because everything is dependent on everything else, players, equipment, room, mic's, monitoring. The only way to really learn is by doing it, criticizing it and then doing it again. Repeat till death.

One tip I will give though, is that source material is EVERYTHING! Don't ever say "it's ok I can sort that in the mix" get a good quality guitar/amp/cab/mic etc and fuck with the mic'ing until you get the best sound you can. Then audition said sound with the rest of the mix as what sounds good solo'd might not cut through a mix. The more time you spend on the recording stage the less time you'll need to spend mixing and the more effective your time spent mixing will be.

what im after is a point in the right direction, i understand alot about production, but not about recording or eq guitars or bass, and what effects to use, my drums sound alright, (because im using Drums from hell) as i don't have the equip to record them yet. so i know its a fucking big queston to ask but where to from here, any good threads from starters, any info , mainly on eqing and recording would help.