New Member, First Ever Metal Mix (Proper) - Feedback Appreciated!

m_macdonald

New Metal Member
Nov 8, 2010
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Hello everyone

I've been a lurker here on the Sneap forum for some time now, and thought perhaps it was time to actually get involved.

Here is my first ever complete metal mix. It will be my third mix to see release, having previously worked on some singer-songwriter material.

I have a lot to learn and would really welcome your feedback. It is my first time though, so do be gentle ;) Imagine you were to carefully and tenderly describe the pointlessness of life to a young, optimistic child.

In all seriousness though, huge thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to listen!

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16208193/Semperfi - New Blood [Master].mp3

He was referring that is his first post, I don´t see the problem...

The mix sounds brutal. What did you use for everything? It sounds too professional!

wow. sounds great dude. I absolutely love the kick sound. only things I would do is sample-augment the toms or eq them differently. I assume they're 100% real so far?
for my linking, the guitars could come down 0.5 - 1 db in the chrous sections (whenever full chords are being played) and the snare 1db up.

"
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK" ? New member ? are you serious ?

Such a warm welcome to the forum, thanks. Yes, I'm serious, as evidenced by my post count (at the time, 1) and my explanation ("I've been a lurker for some time...") above. Presumably, that was the only thing in my post worth going to the effort of commenting on. Thanks anyway.

The mix sounds brutal. What did you use for everything? It sounds too professional!

Thanks so much! I appreciate that! A very brief rundown of the stuff I used (non of which is that exciting I'm afraid):