new to mastering.

timislegend

Jun 8, 2010
yo!

i am kind of new to mastering... i already understand most principals like multiband compression / limiting / dither etc.

also, i'm curious about izotope ozone 4. i'm thinking about buying it. i tried the demo and liked it however is there a real practical use for it in the mastering world or should i just keep taking our stuff to a mastering house?

ps. are there any good tips for mastering anyone could let out? most people just give really vague advise rather than actual "real world" examples.

also... i think it would be nice to give examples of good loudness maximizing software... i realise this touchy for some people so if it offends you (i don't care) ...simply don't answer my question, but foremost don't belittle me because i would like to maximize the sustain of the overall mix by use common (current) methods.

My usual pseudo-mastering chain is :

-Linear Phase EQ (very small adjustments, usually just a highpass at 30hz or so)
-IK T-Racks Opto Compresor (gentle fat-ness)
-T-Racks Clipper ( set to pretty hard)
-T-Racks Clipper ( much softer clipping, and shaving off a bit less)

I've almost completely gone off using Limiters, can never seem to find one that doesn't completely ruin the sound when it's being made to work a bit.

I've almost completely gone off using Limiters, can never seem to find one that doesn't completely ruin the sound when it's being made to work a bit.

for limiting i have used massey's L2007:

i am however currently looking for an algorithm that will improve a bigger output.

(and by bigger... yes i do mean louder) :Smug:

full.l2007.jpg

Mastering sucks!
Do it yourself, it's the only way.

Going for loudness... +1 on Driller. The answer is SPREAD YOUR LOAD!
And I don't mean that in a weird way... :puke:

well balanced mix and slate digital fg-x.

problem solved.
it is just stupid how easy you can master your stuff and get industry levels with this plugin.

desert-island plugin!!!