Newbie Question Thread.

cwelter916

New Metal Member
Sep 28, 2011
Hello Everyone,

I'm new here in fact this is my first post. My name is Chris. I'm new to the audio production world. I was asked by a group of friends in a death metal band to help them record a demo and get it to a finished stage. I'm computer smart just need to be taught something once and I'm good to go but audio production is a whole new world for me. I'm hoping to rely on this forum to help me through difficult situations I run into.

Set Up:
Hp Computer:
AMD Phenom II 960t quad core processor
8 GB DDR3 System Ram
1.5 TB Hard Drive
Running windows 7 64 bit
Sound Blaster audigy 2 pro sound card

Programs:
Sonar X1
Superior drummer 2.2.3 running metal foundry expansion
Addictive Drums 1.5 (just switched to superior and I love it way more then addictive)
EWQL Symphonic Orchestra Gold
Magnus Choir
Guitar Rig 4.0

The main question I have right now is i just recently switch over to superior drummer 2.2.3 with metal foundry expansion and I figured out all the midi mapping since originally we recorded in addictive drums off a yamaha dtxplorer kit.

The problem I have is i can't get the full sound out of superior drummer and IU know its due to my velocity settings which is weird because it sounds great in addictive drums but it just doesn't have a full kit sound when I play it in superior drummer. My question is I have included a picture of what my midi notes look like on a line for the snare drum and I would like to know where you guys run your settings and how should I seperate each note out on a velocity scale to make it not have the machine gun effect. Also is there an easier way then clicking each note and changing the velocity manually?

screenshot.jpg

Thank you all in advance for your help!!!!!

Check the master volume IN superior, if its up at max it blows the sound out and you dont hear certain parts of the kit, that could be the problem.