mixing/EQing and processing drums in software for a noob

Santuzzo

Jan 19, 2008
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hi there,

I am just starting to learn how to use software such as Superior Drummer 2.0, EZDrummer and I just recently also purchased Addictive DRums since I figured it would be an easier starting point in processing drums than SD2.0 is.

There are many great sounding presets, but I want to learn how to get there from a dry unprocessed drum sound.

Where do I start? Do I use EQ fist? Then a compressor?
Say I want to use Addictive Drums to get a metal drum sound like the EZDrummer DFK expansion (eventhough many of you might not like how it sounds), how would I need to EQ and compress the kit?
Would I need anything else besides EQ and compressor?

I have read some tutorials and I also took a look at some presets but I never know how to start as in what steps to take in what order.

Any help here would be highly appreciated!

Lars

superior sounds excellent out of the box. try the guillotine presets on the close mics and maybe reduce ambience a bit if it's not your thing for that particular mix, or if things sound cluttered.

I think we seriously need a drum programming/processing tutorial, I usually just go with the standard preset and then do a tiiiiiny bit of tweaking but i dont even touch te compressors on cymbals because i honestly can't hear the difference and am probably doing more harm than good. EQ is the only thing i'll lay my hands on

ever since i was a noob i never had any trouble at all getting toontrack drums to sound fantastic. i think you guys are thinking too hard...they're pre-processed enough as it is, anything further should just be to customize the sound to your likings or to sit them in your mix better

Usually noobs will purchase one thing at a time, reasearching it first. Warez kids however dl a ton of shit (not knowing how to use it) and say "I can haz help wit phat beatz?"

I'm just sayin...